Zipline Conservative

October 18, 2008

Free Markets, Bailout, Slippery Slopes>>>Nationalization >>>> World Banking? I am confused

Liberty Tipping

Liberty Tipping

I, admittedly, have found the Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac debacle about as much as I could understand in this confusing mess and then ,at only the most elementary level. I have concerns and these fleeting images of the door about to be opened to unbridled legislation, nationalization, and, given the recent obvious co-mingling of the international banks, the potential of a world bank..ala the United Nations.  

For me, it back to basics. It is back to why and how am I a Conservative. I came out of blue collar Democrat family. A Populist streak existed in parents from poor, rural backgrounds. Then the Chicago Dem Convention changed their direction, or at least my dad’s. He sensed in the 60’s that the Dem’s were caving to the Radicalism-Anarchism pressures and said goodbye. Goldwater and then Reagan were what tweaked my dad. I never had an in depth discussion with him about this. I just know he was big on Liberty, big on a work ethic, big on helping his fellow man, and distrusted national anything beyond the military. My dad worked 30+ years for Sears in a blue collar capacity (warehouse and facilities maintenance). He never totally trusted management. He worked two jobs at times to make ends meet. He didn’t blink to help others he met along the way, even if they were scheming, manipulative drug addicts and/or welfare sponges. I write all this, because he influenced me in momentous ways. I became who I am politically, in part, because of his example.

I also have come to know what I don’t like and that is the Democrat’s Leftist streak and the Republican’s fat cat insensitivity while hiding behind enticing phrases and words, while seeming to gluttonishly grab power (i.e. money and ego stimulation). I have come to see much of what I supported and am now suspect of, is the Neo-Con inspired. My Bill Buckley inspirations seem tainted with Bill Kristol’s sweaty palms.

So, I have been directed outward in a critical mode of mind, especially now. But, I feel I am adrift in my anti-Obama  and anti-Regressives critique activities while at the same time questioning beyond myself, who am I with, beyond ‘American’s’? I think I need to be aligned to a more coherent philosophy. I don’t want to emotionally carry conflicting beliefs. I don’t want to be aligned with either Regressives or Republicans. I need a party I can believe in, but now it is all gone. I am suspect of believing in a person. Too dangerous. And, compromise and bipartisanship make me glaze over. It seems much like working with someone on your own demise (Working with the thief burglarizing your house: “Would you prefer I use a moving van or dump truck to empty your house?”)

I need to better understand why I believe what I believe beyond gut instincts (like my father) and to think way beyond on issues. The attached quote re economics by Hazlitt is applicable in all of our decision making.

Economics in One Lesson: Still Relevant Today.

The bad economist sees only what immediately strikes the eye; the good economist also looks beyond. The bad economist sees only the direct consequences of a proposed course; the good economist looks also at the longer and indirect consequences. The bad economist sees only what the effect of a given policy has been or will be on one particular group; the good economist inquires also what the effect of the policy will be on all groups.

Henry Hazlitt.
 http://paleo.vox.com/
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

